You can read issue #29 of the digital edition of the Premier Newspaper. View Archive.

View all Articles

Eire Og too strong for Rosegreen

Published 11 months ago 11th September 2021 by Editor

Eire Og Annacarty Donohill 3-9(18) Rosegreen 1-7(10)
John O’Shea at Rosegreen

Eire Og Annacarty Donohill got their Shane Hennessy Agri Advisor West Junior B Football championship campaign up and running with an eight point victory over the holders at Rosegreen on Saturday evening.

Two goals in the second quarter from Liam Og O’Dwyer and Cian Ryan coupled with a third on the stroke of full time from substitute Alan Shanahan were the main difference between the sides.

Eire Og led at the half time break, 2.5 to 0.2, their points coming from Philip McGrath, Cian Ryan and Liam Og O’Dwyer, while Keith Bergin and Diarmuid Quinlan were on the mark for the home side.

The second half started in a lively fashion with Daniel Hayde in the Rosegreen goal saving a penalty from Pat Ahern. Following this the home side upped their work rate considerably and this was reflected on the scoreboard. Ger Cummins and Colm Hayde put over at the near end before Keith Bergin crashed home a goal after eight minutes. Further points from Colm Hayde, Pa Ryan and Bergin had cut the deficit to the minimum by the water break, 2.5 to 1.7.

The exertions of the third quarter seemed to take it’s toll on the home side as they failed to score after the water break, while Eire Og finished the stronger, culminating in that late goal from Alan Shanahan to run out worthy winners.

Eire Og Annacarty Donohill: Michael Ryan, Ciaran Loughman, Cathal Coughlan, Michael Fox, Dan Hogan, Mikie O’Brien, David Breen, Liam Og O’Dwyer (1.1), Michael Buckley, Jack Kingston (0.1), Willie O’Neill, Ronan O’Brien, Pat Ahern (0.2,1f), Philip McGrath (0.4,3f), Cian Ryan (1.1) Subs used; Alan Shanahan (1.0), Peter O’Dwyer.

Rosegreen: Daniel Hayde: Danny Fanning, James Walsh, Sean Ryan, Charlie Costello, Tom Dowling, Nick Ryan, Pa Ryan (0.1), Mark Hartnett, Colm Hayde (0.2), Diarmuid Quinlan (0.1), Tony Kerwick, Keith Bergin (1.2,1f), Ger Cummins (0.1), Eoin McSweeney

Subs used: Denis Golden.
Referee: Padraig Skeffington (Cashel King Cormacs)

Photo: John O’Shea

Sports News

Other Articles

Recent Articles

Popular Articles

New jerseys in honour of Jack Downey
The heat is on
Rock of Cashel included in new World…
Fethard community bids fond farewell to Presentation…
Turkeys and Christmas
Judge rules the roost as Fairview are…
No Famine for Tipperary Football
Why do we allow ourselves to lose…
‘Tell Us A Story’ Competition Winners Announced
Wilderness claim First Division League title with…
Olympiad Bronze for Rockwell student
Church at St Luke’s Clonmel deconsecrated
Big John reports on Saturday nights senior…
Classy Display for Tipp Minor Footballers
APRIL 1972- APRIL 2022 ———- 50 YEARS…
Tipperary U20’s bow out
Shark Infested Waters Ahead
US Masters Prime Suspect
GAA and GPA: It’s time to define…
Dream Time
Fil Embarks On Fundraising Walk
Clonmel Town lose to defending champions in…
Annerville committee to posthumously acknowledge Bloody Sunday…
Raising of the Flags signals day of…
Farewell to a gentleman, Sean Nyhan RIP
Vegetation to be cleared from footpaths at…
Tipp-Based Company Launch Online Platform For Coffee…
Look at Linfield and Learn!

Recent Comments

  • No recent comments available.