You can read issue #29 of the digital edition of the Premier Newspaper. View Archive.

View all Articles

Holycross Ballycahill come from 17 points down to claim John Kennedy Motors U21 Division 3 Football League title

Published 12 months ago 29th August 2021 by Editor

A 17 point turnaround made Holycross/Ballycahill the U21 Division 3 Champions on Sunday afternoon last when they defeated St. Odhran’s/Silvermines in the Division 3 final.

An exciting and enthralling game it set the stage for a fantastic afternoon of football. St. Odhran’s dominated the opening half and had notched up 3-5 to Holycross’ 0-2 by the water break. Sarah Madden opening her goal account in just the 3rd minute and her second less than 15 minutes later. Anna Stapleton added the third in the 18th minute.

On the restart St. Odhran’s Eileen Gleeson added her name to the goal scorers. However Holycross slowly began to take their scores with Kate Carr registering a personal tally of 0-3 combined with points from Elaine Brennan, Lily Maher and Kate McGrath (0-1) each to bring the half time score to St. Odhran’s/Silvermines 4-6 Holycross Ballycahill 0-8.

On the restart Holycross began to assert themselves and scored 3-2 without reply with scores from Ava Carr (1-0), Kate McGrath (1-1) Lily Maher (1-0, penalty) and Meabh Ryan (1-0) . St. Odhran’s did pull a point back from Ellen Cunneen but Holycross were now in the driving seat, Elaine Brennan replying with (1-2) before Lilly Maher converted a penalty to put Holycross firmly out of reach. Silvermines were reduced to just 14 for the remainder of the game when Aoife Ryan was sin binned. St. Odhran’s Jodie McGrath claimed a goal of her own before Ellen Cunneen pointed again in the last minute

of ordinary time. It was Lilly Maher’s third converted penalty of the game that wrapped it all up for Holycross.
Teams and scorers

The Holycross Ballycahill team that won the John Kennedy Motors U21 Division 3 Football League title. Photo: Cahir Media


Roisín Dwan, Clodagh Morris, Marie McGrath, Katie Ryan, Kate Dwan, Kate McGrath (0-2) Caoimhe Doyle, Rachel Quinlan, Meabh Ryan (1-0), Ava Carr, (1- 0) Julie Brennan, Lilly Maher (3-2), Abby Fitzpatrick Ryan, Elaine Brennan (1-4), Kate Carr (0-4) Subs used Aoife O’Reilly, Katie O’Mahoney, Aisling Craddock and Grace Fitzpatrick Ryan

The St Odhran’s/Silvermines team that were defeated in the Division 3 final. Cahir Media

St. Odhran’s/Silvermines

Aoife Ryan, Andrea Brennan , Annie Ryan, Rachel Shanahan, Niamh Pateman, Maria Moroney, Katie Murphy, Ciara Grace, Anna Stapleton (1-0), Ellen Cunneen (0-5), Sarah Madden (2-2), Niamh Cunneen (0-1), Jodie McGrath (1-0), Eileen Gleeson (1-0), Hazel Cawley. Substitutions used; Niamh O’Brien, Saoirse Shanahan, Tara Byrne, Katelyn Fahey, Maeve Steed, Abbie O’Dwyer, Bronagh Kenneally

Sports News

Other Articles

Recent Articles

Popular Articles

New jerseys in honour of Jack Downey
The heat is on
Rock of Cashel included in new World…
Fethard community bids fond farewell to Presentation…
Turkeys and Christmas
Judge rules the roost as Fairview are…
No Famine for Tipperary Football
Why do we allow ourselves to lose…
‘Tell Us A Story’ Competition Winners Announced
Wilderness claim First Division League title with…
Olympiad Bronze for Rockwell student
Church at St Luke’s Clonmel deconsecrated
Big John reports on Saturday nights senior…
Classy Display for Tipp Minor Footballers
APRIL 1972- APRIL 2022 ———- 50 YEARS…
Tipperary U20’s bow out
Shark Infested Waters Ahead
US Masters Prime Suspect
GAA and GPA: It’s time to define…
Dream Time
Fil Embarks On Fundraising Walk
Clonmel Town lose to defending champions in…
Annerville committee to posthumously acknowledge Bloody Sunday…
Raising of the Flags signals day of…
Farewell to a gentleman, Sean Nyhan RIP
Vegetation to be cleared from footpaths at…
Tipp-Based Company Launch Online Platform For Coffee…
Look at Linfield and Learn!

Recent Comments

  • No recent comments available.