You can read issue #2 of the digital edition of the Premier Newspaper

View all Articles

Crosco Cup 1⁄4 Final

Published 1 week ago 16th July 2021 by Editor

Cappawhite 3-16(25)
Arravale Rovers 2-16(22)

Francis Coughlan at Sean Treacy Park

Cappawhite booked their place in the semi-final of the 2021 Crosco Cup following victory over the recently crowned, County Junior A Hurling champions Arravale Rovers in Sean Treacy Park on Wednesday evening who started with nine of their team from their County success five days previous.

Just a goal separated the sides at the interval in what was an evenly contested opening half. Arravale Rovers opened the scoring with a point from Donagh Leahy which was cancelled out by Willie Barry at the other end. The sides were level five times over the course of the half but Ciaran Doody’s goal just before half time gave them a three-point interval lead.

Cormac Maher (Arravale Rovers), tries to catch Ross Dunne (Cappawhite) in the Crosco Cup 1/4 Final. Photo: Francis Coughlan

Cappawhite got a perfect start to the second half when Pakie Barry, goaled in the third minute of the second half. Arravale Rovers refused to give in and the gap was down to three points by the ninth minute when Donagh Leahy goaled. The game continued to be close until Frazer Allen goaled with twelve minutes remaining. With five to go Cappawhite had stretched the lead to eight points. Arravale found a way back when Cor- mac Maher cut in for a goal and it ensured a frantic finish as Arravale looked for goal number four. Michael Sharpe pulled on the sliotar after a scramble near the Cappawhite goal but his effort went over the bar. Paddy Russell then blew the final whistle as Cap- pawhite advanced to a semi-final meeting with Cashel King Cormacs.

Cappawhite: Anthony Barry, Tom Treacy, Philip Gantley, Dara Duggan, Ross Dunne, David Buckley, Ryan Renehan, Colm O’Dwyer, Rian Doody (0-2), Ciaran Doody (1-1) Mikey Carmody (0-1), Pakie Barry (1-1),William Barry (0-7, 3f ), Fraser Allen(1-1), Gearoid Lennon (0-2)

Subs Used: Cathal McCarthy, John McGrath, Tommy Coughlan (0-1) Ben White

Arravale Rovers: Patrick O’Donnell, Seamus Kinane, Shane Leahy, Richie Lohan, Tadgh O’Connor, Niall Fitzgerald, Roger O’Connor, Cian Ryan, Mikey O’Dwyer (0-1), Cormac Ma- her (1-0), Conal Donovan (0-8, (0-7f ), Donagh Leahy (1-4), Eoghan Lonergan (0-1), Darragh Crowe, Eoghan Lonergan (0-1)

Subs Used: Darren Lowry, Michael Sharpe (0- 1), Andrew Richardson, Ger O’Dwyer, Eoghan Lonergan
Referee: Paddy Russell (Emly)

Other Articles

Popular Articles

From behind the goal
Evolve or Die

Recent Comments

  • No recent comments available.